GQA Qualifications Blog

Wednesday 17 December 2014

GQA’s Automotive Glazing qualifications satisfied PAS 125 and continue to meet the requirements of its replacement

BS 10125:2014 Automotive services. Specification for vehicle damage repair processes 

From November 2014 a new British Standard for vehicle damage repair has replaced the already highly successful PAS 125.

The new British Standard is designed by the repair industry and includes:
             Competency requirements for person
               conducting repairs
             The requirement to conduct repairs in accordance with predefined repair methods
             Identifying the right equipment and tools 
             Controlling the quality of repairs
             Managing the repairs process for continual improvement
GQA’s Head of Qualification Development and Delivery Sean Hayes, was part of the Committee that developed the standard and so is ideally placed to comment on the relevance of GQA’s Automotive Glazing qualifications. Sean said “The British Standard states that individuals must be ‘currently competent” and demonstrate this by being in possession of an industry recognised qualification based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). The qualifications are only recognised for 3 years from the date of achievement for the purposes of the British Standard so it is important that these are kept up to date. The qualifications we developed with, and for, the Automotive Glazing industry meet all of the requirements of the outgoing PAS 125 and the newly introduced BS 10125:2014”

GQA offers the more “traditional” Level 2 and Level 3 Automotive Glazing QCF qualifications and has also introduced a Continued Competence qualification that is used as the renewal or refresher qualification for those who hold a qualification that is over 3 years old.

A copy of BSI10125:2014 can be purchased from the BSI Website;
An overview of the changes can be seen here