GQA Qualifications Blog

Friday 3 July 2015

The industry's most inclusive awards is ready for you!

GQA are delighted to continue our association with the National Fenestration Awards in 2015.  So what is the NFAs and why should you get involved?

The National Fenestration Awards (NFA) is a unique award scheme for the UK Double Glazing and Fenestration Industry.  This scheme gives companies and individuals involved within the industry the opportunity to have their say on who they believe deserves recognition.

What makes this scheme like no other is the fact that it is based on industry nominations; there is no judging panel and all nominations and votes are cast online by people actively working and engaged with the industry.  Whether you are the business owner or an installer (or both!), each has an equal opportunity to nominate and make their vote count on each of the 19 award categories:

  • Social Networker 2015 
  • Hardware Company 2015
  • Young Person 2015 
  • Glass System Company 2015
  • System Company 2015 
  • Composite/Panelled Door 2015
  • Steel Company 2015 
  • Timber Company 2015
  • Aluminium Company 2015
  •  PVC Company 2015
  • Digital Specialist 2015 
  • Timber Alternative 2015
  • Manufacturer/Fabrication 2015 
  • IGU Manufacturer 2015
  • Conservatory Roof Fabricator 2015 
  • Spacer Bar Manufacturer 2015
  • Machinery Company 2015 
  • Training Centre 2015
  • Customer Services 2015 

Important Dates

Nominations Close 11.59pm on Monday 31st August 2015
Shortlist will be announced by NFA on Monday 7th September 2015
Voting will go live on Tuesday 8th September 2015

Why are GQA Involved?

As the specialist Awarding Organisation for the glass and related industries, it is in our very nature to support initiatives that recognise achievement and good practice. There are many changes within the industry and it is important that those working within the industry understand what is happening and how they can meet the changes head on. The NFAs, already supported by VEKA UK, Liniar, Solidor and Windowbase in addition to GQA, are a great vehicle for raising the profile of the industry and recognising individuals and companies for the great work that they are doing.

And a word from Mick Clayton, GQA CEO “Join GQA in supporting these Awards; let’s recognise the people that you are working with – wouldn’t it be great to see NFA winners that have worked with a GQA Centre. The NFAs really are an Award scheme like no other - nominations from the industry, with winners voted for by the industry.”

How can you get involved?

As a GQA Approved Centre we want you to be involved and this is a fantastic way of highlighting the skills and commitment of your candidates and clients. Do you work with a meticulous fabricator or installer who shows great pride in their work, do you have a client who stands out from the crowd? With 19 Awards already released for nominations, I am sure that you – our Centres - work with the calibre of people who would fit into these categories.

Registration to vote and take part is free, quick and easy.  Simply follow the link below and enter your details and the NFA will do the rest.

Nominations are open for each of the categories until the 31st August 2015, following which, the review process will begin and subsequently the voting process will start in earnest.

Further information can be found on the NFA website .